All programs

Interventional Pulmonology Residency Program

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
Initial AccreditationACGME #1384814001UniversityJ1J-1

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is an ACGME-accredited university-based Interventional pulmonology residency program in Dallas, TX. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year. It reports J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1
0 residents · 1 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
J-1
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2025 · 1 years

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3
Incl. faculty
Visa
J-1
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Affiliated medical schools

Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
60
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
14
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
4.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government
Star Rating
2 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
460
Mid-size
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care1 better · 5 same · 1 worse
Mortality1 better · 5 same · 0 worse
Readmission0 better · 8 same · 0 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$4K
Research
$0
Payments
4

Top payer: Stryker Corporation ($4K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
ED visits
94,461
Inpatient surgeries
6,306
Outpatient surgeries
7,635
Births
0
Daily census
351
Full-time staff
3,770

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: William P Clements Jr University Hospital · Dallas, TX

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

William P Clements Jr University Hospital

Primary
Dallas, TX460 beds

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Dallas, TX793 beds

Parkland Health and Hospital System-Parkland Memorial Hospital

Dallas, TX851 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for Dallas County, Texas (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
None
No tax on wages
Median Income
$74,149
−$4k vs US median
Avg Commute
27 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Audra J Schwalk, MD, MBA

Program Director

Program Director

Ms. Fondo Bokembya, BA

GME Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center located?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is located in Dallas, TX.
What type of program is University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is a university-based residency program.
Is University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center holds initial ACGME accreditation.
Does University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center require?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center?
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Interventional pulmonology residency program positions as they appear.