Emergency Medical Services Residency Program
University of Texas Health Science Center at HoustonUniversity of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is an ACGME-accredited university-based Emergency medical services residency program in Houston, TX. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 2 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
Accredited since 2013 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2015
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
Other
OtherResidents
Cohort composition
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Smoke-free workplace.
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
Harris County Emergency Services District #17
Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.
Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 9 of 12 timely & effective care measures.
Top payer: Baxter Healthcare ($80K)
Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.
Primary teaching site: Houston Fire Department Emergency Medical Services · Houston, TX
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Houston Fire Department Emergency Medical Services
PrimaryLocation
Rental market & livability
Area median rent ~$1,525/mo · 54 days on market12.24% rental listings MoM

Specials
Specials
Specials
Specials

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Harris County, Texas (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston located?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is located in Houston, TX.
- What type of program is University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is a university-based residency program.
- Is University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston has approximately 2 residents in training.
- How much is rent near University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston?
- Median rent near Houston, TX is ~$1,601/month for a 1BR and ~$1,857/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
- Does University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston require?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston?
- University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Emergency medical services residency program positions as they appear.