Hospice and Palliative Medicine (Multidisciplinary) Residency Program
Providence HospitalProvidence Hospital is an ACGME-accredited community-based Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program in Anchorage, AK. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 2 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
Accredited since 2009 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2012
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
No tracks listed
No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.
Residents
Cohort composition
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Smoke-free workplace.
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
Every day, 119,000 compassionate caregivers serve patients and communities through Providence St. Joseph Health, a national, Catholic, not-for-profit health system, driven by a belief that health is a human right. Rooted in the founding missions of the Sisters of Providence and the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange, courageous women ahead of their time who brought health care and other social services to the American West when it was still a rugged, untamed frontier, we share a singular commitment to improve the health of all. From our earliest days, we’ve met new challenges by pioneering new solutions. Today, with 51 hospitals, 829 clinics and a comprehensive range of services, we strive to meet the needs of communities across Alaska, California, Montana, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas and Washington through a diverse family of Catholic, other faith-based and mission-driven secular organizations. Now, as we face a new frontier—a changing health care landscape—we draw upon their pioneering and compassionate spirit to plan for the next century of health for a better world, especially for the poor and vulnerable. If you need treatment, please visit www.providence.org to locate a health care provider.
Source: FREIDA facility profile.
Primary teaching site: Providence Hospital · Anchorage, AK
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Providence Hospital
PrimaryProvidence Extended Care Center (Anchorage)
Location
Rental market & livability
Area median rent ~$1,750/mo · 32 days on market7.32% rental listings MoM








Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Anchorage Municipality, Alaska (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is Providence Hospital located?
- Providence Hospital is located in Anchorage, AK.
- What type of program is Providence Hospital?
- Providence Hospital is a community-based residency program.
- Is Providence Hospital ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — Providence Hospital holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at Providence Hospital?
- Providence Hospital has approximately 2 residents in training.
- How much is rent near Providence Hospital?
- Median rent near Anchorage, AK is ~$1,326/month for a 1BR and ~$1,520/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
- Does Providence Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- Providence Hospital reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does Providence Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- Providence Hospital does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Providence Hospital require?
- Providence Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at Providence Hospital?
- Providence Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to Providence Hospital?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Providence Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does Providence Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program positions as they appear.