All programs

Hand Surgery (Orthopaedic Surgery) Residency Program

New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY
Continued AccreditationACGME #2633531008University

New York Presbyterian Hospital is an ACGME-accredited university-based Hand surgery (Orthopaedic surgery) residency program in New York, NY. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 1 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1
1 residents · 1 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
0%
x
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

1 years · Last ACGME review 2009

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
4
Incl. faculty
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
0%
x
US MD
100%
x
DO
0%
x
Women
0%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
40
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
12
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
5.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
1
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program
Non-physician staff
4
Support team size

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit
Star Rating
Overall hospital rating
Beds

Primary teaching site: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center · New York, NY

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Primary
New York, NY

Location

Livability

County figures for New York County, New York (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
10.9%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$104,553
+$26k vs US median
Avg Commute
31 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Melvin P Rosenwasser, MD

Director, Orthopaedic Hand Surgery Fellowship Program

Program Director

Mrs. Lee-Ann Finno

Hand Fellowship Coordinator

Coordinator

Dawn Vega

Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is New York Presbyterian Hospital located?
New York Presbyterian Hospital is located in New York, NY.
What type of program is New York Presbyterian Hospital?
New York Presbyterian Hospital is a university-based residency program.
Is New York Presbyterian Hospital ACGME-accredited?
Yes — New York Presbyterian Hospital holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at New York Presbyterian Hospital?
New York Presbyterian Hospital has approximately 1 residents in training.
How much is rent near New York Presbyterian Hospital?
Median rent near New York, NY is ~$3,323/month for a 1BR and ~$3,100/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does New York Presbyterian Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
New York Presbyterian Hospital reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does New York Presbyterian Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
New York Presbyterian Hospital does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does New York Presbyterian Hospital require?
New York Presbyterian Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at New York Presbyterian Hospital?
New York Presbyterian Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to New York Presbyterian Hospital?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save New York Presbyterian Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does New York Presbyterian Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Hand surgery (Orthopaedic surgery) residency program positions as they appear.