All programs

Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program

Howard University Hospital
Washington, DC
Initial AccreditationACGME #2601000001

Howard University Hospital is an ACGME-accredited Orthopaedic Surgery residency program in Washington, DC. It has 3 PGY-1 positions per year. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
3
0 residents · 15 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed
SOAP eligible
Yes
2193260C1

Accredited since 2025 · 5 years · Last ACGME review 2025

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match code
2193260C1
NRMP identifier
Match status
Active
SOAP eligible
Yes
via ERAS
MRM eligible
Yes
via ERAS

Listed in the NRMP directory as “Howard Univ Hosp-DC”.

View on NRMP Program Directory ↗

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
0
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
0
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
0
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit

Howard University Hospital is a Level One(1) Trauma Center, one of America's best hospitals, offering the most comprehensive health care facilities in America. Forerunner of the Howard University Hospital, Freedmen's Hospital served the black community in the District of Columbia for more than a century. First established in 1862 on the grounds of the Camp Barker, 13th and R Streets, NW, Freedmen's Hospital and Asylum cared for freed, disabled, and aged blacks. In 1863, it was placed under Dr. Alexander Augusta, the first African-American to head a hospital. After the Civil War, it became the teaching hospital of Howard University Medical School, established in 1868, while remaining under federal control. Early in the 20th century, Congress authorized the construction of a new hospital which was completed in 1909. When Abraham Flexner visited the District of Columbia that year, he was impressed by the new, 278-bed Freedmen's Hospital and thought only Howard University Medical School in the city had a promising future. In 1967, Freedmen's Hospital was transferred to Howard University and used as a hospital until 1975. The University Hospital is now located in a modern facility at 2041 Georgia Avenue, NW. The original Freedmen's building (Bryant and 6th Streets) still stands and now houses Howard University's John H. Johnson School of Communications. Freedmen's Hall, a permanent museum located at the University Hospital, is devoted to the history of medical education and health care at Howard University.

Star Rating
1 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
239
Mid-size
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care0 better · 5 same · 1 worse
Mortality1 better · 5 same · 0 worse
Readmission0 better · 4 same · 2 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 9 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Leapfrog Safety GradeD
Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$391K
Research
$0
Payments
6

Top payer: AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP ($388K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
7,843
ED visits
21,445
Inpatient surgeries
1,490
Outpatient surgeries
3,562
Births
906
Daily census
137
Full-time staff
1,783

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: Howard University Hospital · Washington, DC

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Howard University Hospital

Primary
Washington, DC239 beds

Children's National Hospital

Washington, DC323 beds

MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Washington, DC780 beds

Shady Grove Adventist Hospital

Rockville, MD474 beds

University of Maryland Capital Region Health

Cheverly, MD245 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for District of Columbia, District of Columbia (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
10.75%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$106,287
+$28k vs US median
Avg Commute
30 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Onyinyechukwu B Nwankwo, MD

Program Director and Assistant Professor

Program Director

Mr. Tyrece D Hunter, MA, MBA

GME Director

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Howard University Hospital located?
Howard University Hospital is located in Washington, DC.
Is Howard University Hospital ACGME-accredited?
Yes — Howard University Hospital holds initial ACGME accreditation.
Does Howard University Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Howard University Hospital has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does Howard University Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Howard University Hospital does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Howard University Hospital require?
Howard University Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at Howard University Hospital?
Howard University Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to Howard University Hospital?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Howard University Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does Howard University Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Orthopaedic Surgery residency program positions as they appear.