Cytopathology Residency Program
Hartford HospitalHartford Hospital is an ACGME-accredited Cytopathology residency program in Hartford, CT. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 1 residents in training. It reports J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
Accredited since 1993 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2011
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
No tracks listed
No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.
Residents
Cohort composition
Cohort composition — data pending
Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
Hartford Hospital, founded in 1854, is one of the largest teaching hospitals and tertiary care centers in New England with perhaps the region’s busiest surgery practice, has been training physicians for over 160 years. The hospital is an 867-bed regional referral center that provides high-quality care in all clinical disciplines. Among its divisions is The Institute of Living, a 114-bed mental health facility with a national and international reputation of excellence. Jefferson House, a 104-bed long-term care facility, is also part of Hartford Hospital. Hartford Hospital is part of Hartford HealthCare, Connecticut’s most comprehensive healthcare network. Our fully integrated health system includes a tertiary-care teaching hospital, an acute-care community teaching hospital, an acute-care hospital and trauma center, three community hospitals, the state’s most extensive behavioral health network, a large multi-specialty physician group, a regional home care system, an array of senior care services, a large physical therapy and rehabilitation network and an accountable care organization. Through its institute model, Hartford HealthCare offers the highest standards of care for cancer, heart and vascular services, neuroscience, orthopedics and urology.
Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.
Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.
Top payer: Medtronic, Inc. ($622K)
Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.
Source: NIH RePORTER — federal research grants awarded to this teaching hospital (last 3 fiscal years).
Source: FREIDA facility profile.
Primary teaching site: Hartford Hospital · Hartford, CT
Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Hartford Hospital
PrimaryLocation
Rental market & livability
Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Capitol Planning Region, Connecticut (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is Hartford Hospital located?
- Hartford Hospital is located in Hartford, CT.
- Is Hartford Hospital ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — Hartford Hospital holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at Hartford Hospital?
- Hartford Hospital has approximately 1 residents in training.
- Does Hartford Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- Hartford Hospital has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does Hartford Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- Hartford Hospital reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Hartford Hospital require?
- Hartford Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at Hartford Hospital?
- Hartford Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to Hartford Hospital?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Hartford Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does Hartford Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Cytopathology residency program positions as they appear.