All programs

Hand Surgery (Plastic Surgery) Residency Program

University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, KY
Continued AccreditationACGME #3632021003

University of Louisville School of Medicine is an ACGME-accredited Hand surgery (Plastic surgery) residency program in Louisville, KY. It has 8 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 6 residents in training. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
8
6 residents · 8 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 1991 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2024

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
0
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
0
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
0
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government

The name of our school is a clear indicator that we are a distinctive school of public health. Public health is more than restaurant inspections, flu shots and managing health departments. It is identifying emerging health threats and risks, monitoring health factors and status, understanding how people seek and respond to health information and preparing responses to events that can affect the public's health. While we embrace the traditional tasks and roles of public health specialists, we recognize that protecting the public's health today requires much more. It requires a new approach that integrates how information about the public's health is acquired, evaluated, acted on and disseminated, and how these affect the public and its health. It requires preparing our students for careers in the 21st century by using 21st century knowledge and techniques. Our vision We will be an internationally recognized center of excellence for the creation, sharing, and application of knowledge for the public's health. In achieving our vision: We will extend the domain of public health to include all factors in the public's health. We will pursue health information sciences as an inseparable aspect of public health. We will work for close integration of individual health, health care, and public health.

Star Rating
1 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care1 better · 5 same · 1 worse
Mortality0 better · 5 same · 1 worse
Readmission0 better · 7 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$240K
Research
$0
Payments
45

Top payer: Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc. ($101K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Primary teaching site: University of Louisville School of Medicine · Louisville, KY

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

University of Louisville School of Medicine

Primary
Louisville, KY

UofL Health-Jewish Hospital

Louisville, KY458 beds

Veterans Affairs Medical Center (Louisville)

Louisville, KY116 beds

UofL Health-UofL Hospital

Louisville, KY340 beds

Location

Livability

County figures for Jefferson County, Kentucky (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
4%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$67,849
−$11k vs US median
Avg Commute
22 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Michelle D Palazzo, MD, MS

Program Director / Associate Professor

Program Director

Ms. Machenize A Eason

Coordinator

Coordinator

Jackie Hardwick

Fellowship Coordinator

Coordinator

Lynn Hagglund

Department Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Louisville School of Medicine located?
University of Louisville School of Medicine is located in Louisville, KY.
Is University of Louisville School of Medicine ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Louisville School of Medicine holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Louisville School of Medicine?
University of Louisville School of Medicine has approximately 6 residents in training.
How much is rent near University of Louisville School of Medicine?
Median rent near Louisville, KY is ~$1,329/month for a 1BR and ~$1,899/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does University of Louisville School of Medicine accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
University of Louisville School of Medicine has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Louisville School of Medicine sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Louisville School of Medicine does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Louisville School of Medicine require?
University of Louisville School of Medicine does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Louisville School of Medicine?
University of Louisville School of Medicine has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Louisville School of Medicine?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Louisville School of Medicine to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Louisville School of Medicine have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Hand surgery (Plastic surgery) residency program positions as they appear.