All programs

Vascular Neurology Residency Program

University of Utah Health
Salt Lake City, UT
Continued AccreditationACGME #1884913073UniversityJ1J-1

University of Utah Health is an ACGME-accredited university-based Vascular neurology residency program in Salt Lake City, UT. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 3 residents in training. It reports 50% IMG residents and J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
2
3 residents · 2 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
50%
x
Visa sponsorship
J-1
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2009 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2012

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3–4
Reference letters needed
Visa
J-1
Application service
ERAS

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

Academic or clinician educator

Other

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
50%
x
US MD
50%
x
DO
0%
x
Women
100%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
50
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
24
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
5.5
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government

University of Utah Health is the Intermountain West’s only academic health care system, combining excellence in patient care, the latest in medical research, and teaching to provide leading-edge medicine in a caring and personal setting. The system provides care for Utahns and residents of five surrounding states in a referral area encompassing more than 10 percent of the continental United States. Whether it’s for routine care or highly specialized treatment in orthopedics, stroke, ophthalmology, cancer, radiology, fertility, cardiology, genetic-related diseases, organ transplant, or many other areas of medicine, University of Utah Health offers the latest technology and advancements, including some services available nowhere else in the region. As part of that system, University of Utah Health Hospitals and Clinics rely on more than 1,600 board-certified physicians who staff five University hospitals (University Hospital, Huntsman Cancer Hospital, Craig H. Neilsen Rehabilitation Hospital, University Orthopaedic Center, and the University Neuropsychiatric Institute); 12 community clinics; and several specialty centers including the John A. Moran Eye Center, Kathryn F. Kirk Center for Comprehensive Cancer Care and Women's Cancers, the Cardiovascular Center, the Clinical Neurosciences Center, and the Utah Diabetes Center. University of Utah Health is consistently ranked among US News & World Report’s Best Hospitals, has ranked in the nation’s top 10 for quality health care among leading academic medical centers by Vizient Inc., Its academic partners at the University of Utah School of Medicine and Colleges of Nursing, Pharmacy, Dentistry, and Health are internationally regarded research and teaching institutions.

Star Rating
5 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
818
Tertiary care
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care1 better · 6 same · 1 worse
Mortality1 better · 6 same · 0 worse
Readmission1 better · 10 same · 0 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 11 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$3.8M
Research
$0
Payments
230

Top payer: Boston Scientific Corporation ($1.8M)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
33,172
ED visits
63,668
Inpatient surgeries
11,284
Outpatient surgeries
28,949
Births
4,321
Daily census
606
Full-time staff
1,033

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: University of Utah Health · Salt Lake City, UT

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

University of Utah Health

Primary
Salt Lake City, UT818 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for Salt Lake County, Utah (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
4.55%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$94,658
+$16k vs US median
Avg Commute
22 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Vivek K Reddy, MD, MMM

Program Director and Associate Professor of Neurology

Program Director

Amanda Crosby

Academic Manager

Coordinator

Aaron Shoskes, DO

Associate Program Director and Assistant Professor of Neurology

Coordinator

Kristin Palmer

Academic Program Manager

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Utah Health located?
University of Utah Health is located in Salt Lake City, UT.
What type of program is University of Utah Health?
University of Utah Health is a university-based residency program.
Is University of Utah Health ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Utah Health holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Utah Health?
University of Utah Health has approximately 3 residents in training.
Does University of Utah Health accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Yes — 50% of University of Utah Health's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Utah Health sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Utah Health reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Utah Health require?
University of Utah Health does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Utah Health?
University of Utah Health has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Utah Health?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Utah Health to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Utah Health have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Vascular neurology residency program positions as they appear.