All programs

Adult Congenital Heart Disease Residency Program

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Continued AccreditationACGME #1532514001University

University of Michigan is an ACGME-accredited university-based Adult congenital heart disease residency program in Ann Arbor, MI. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 1 residents in training. It reports 100% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1
1 residents · 2 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
100%
x
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2018 · 2 years · Last ACGME review 2021

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service
ERAS

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
100%
x
US MD
0%
x
DO
0%
x
Women
0%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
0
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit

Welcome to the official LinkedIn page for University of Michigan News. Our team of former journalists and communicators identifies and promotes U-M's thriving community of learners, thinkers and change-makers. We promote news to a global audience. The Michigan News website features thought-provoking interviews – text, audio and video – with renowned experts on topics of such global importance as artificial intelligence, climate change, election security, poverty, human rights and more. At Michigan News, you can explore a diverse range of new developments spanning engineering, transportation and health care to the environment, the economy and the arts, to name a few. Michigan News works with the media to showcase U-M faculty, students and alumni who are shaping the future and making a difference through education, research and innovation. #UMichiganNews #HigherEducation #Innovation #Research #Impact #Education #FacultyExperts #UMich

Star Rating
4 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
1,026
Tertiary care
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care4 better · 4 same · 0 worse
Mortality2 better · 5 same · 0 worse
Readmission1 better · 9 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 12 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$26.1M
Research
$0
Payments
416

Top payer: GENZYME CORPORATION ($16.0M)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

NIH Research Funding (FY2026)
Total awarded
$2872.3M
Active projects
~1,554

Source: NIH RePORTER — federal research grants awarded to this teaching hospital (last 3 fiscal years).

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
47,869
ED visits
94,785
Inpatient surgeries
16,132
Outpatient surgeries
40,583
Births
4,839
Daily census
855
Full-time staff
1,399

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: University of Michigan · Ann Arbor, MI

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

University of Michigan

Primary
Ann Arbor, MI1,026 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for Washtenaw County, Michigan (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
4.25%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$87,156
+$9k vs US median
Avg Commute
23 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Timothy B Cotts, MD

Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine

Program Director

Ms. Peggy Engel

Program Administrator

Coordinator

Melissa Rice

Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Michigan located?
University of Michigan is located in Ann Arbor, MI.
What type of program is University of Michigan?
University of Michigan is a university-based residency program.
Is University of Michigan ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Michigan holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Michigan?
University of Michigan has approximately 1 residents in training.
Does University of Michigan accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Yes — 100% of University of Michigan's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Michigan sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Michigan does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Michigan require?
University of Michigan does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Michigan?
University of Michigan has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Michigan?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Michigan to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Michigan have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Adult congenital heart disease residency program positions as they appear.