All programs

Internal Medicine Residency Program

University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Continued AccreditationACGME #1402621205UniversityJ1J-1

University of Minnesota is an ACGME-accredited university-based Internal Medicine residency program in Minneapolis, MN. It has 31 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 92 residents in training. It reports 14.3% IMG residents and J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
31
92 residents · 92 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
14.3%
x
Visa sponsorship
J-1
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed
SOAP eligible
Yes
1334140C0

Accredited since 1957 · 3 years · Last ACGME review 2011

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3–4
Incl. chair
Visa
J-1
Application service
ERAS
Main match

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match code
1334140C0
NRMP identifier
Match status
Active
SOAP eligible
Yes
via ERAS
MRM eligible
Yes
via ERAS

Listed in the NRMP directory as “Univ of Minnesota Med School-MN”.

View on NRMP Program Directory ↗

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Training tracks

Primary care

Primary Care

Hospitalist

Other

Research track/fellowship (non-ACGME accredited)

Research

Other

Other

Academic or clinician educator

Other

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
14%
x
US MD
77%
x
DO
9%
x
Women
55%
x

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
65
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
16
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
7
Protected didactic / week
Night float
Yes
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
1.5
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Hospital quality data not yet linked for this program.

Clinical sites

Minneapolis VA Healthcare System

Minneapolis, MN309 beds

Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital

St Louis Park, MN370 beds

Regions Hospital

St Paul, MN457 beds

University of Minnesota Medical Center

Minneapolis, MN861 beds

Abbott-Northwestern Hospital/Allina Health System

Minneapolis, MN696 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

State Income Tax
9.85%
Top marginal rate · 2025

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Melissa Plesac, MD

[.5] Program Director

Program Director

Mrs. Falon Montreuil, BA

Residency Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Janice Basara Johnson

Associate Education Manager

Coordinator

Heidi Goski

Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Ms. Emily Langerak, MA

Education Manager

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Minnesota located?
University of Minnesota is located in Minneapolis, MN.
What type of program is University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota is a university-based residency program.
Is University of Minnesota ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Minnesota holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota has approximately 92 residents in training.
Does University of Minnesota accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Yes — 14.3% of University of Minnesota's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Minnesota sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Minnesota reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Minnesota require?
University of Minnesota does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Minnesota?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Minnesota to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Minnesota have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Internal Medicine residency program positions as they appear.