All programs

Geriatric Medicine (Family Medicine) Residency Program

Marshall University School of Medicine
Huntington, WV
Continued AccreditationACGME #1255512054University

Marshall University School of Medicine is an ACGME-accredited university-based Geriatric medicine (Family medicine) residency program in Huntington, WV. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year. It reports 0% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
2
0 residents · 2 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
0%
x
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2019 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2023

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3
Incl. faculty
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service
ERAS

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

Primary care

Primary Care

Rural

Rural

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
0%
x
US MD
0%
x
DO
100%
x
Women
0%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Affiliated medical schools

Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
47
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
28
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
2.8
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government
Star Rating
2 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care1 better · 7 same · 0 worse
Mortality0 better · 6 same · 0 worse
Readmission0 better · 8 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$123K
Research
$0
Payments
27

Top payer: INTUITIVE SURGICAL, INC. ($111K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Primary teaching site: Marshall University School of Medicine · Huntington, WV

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Marshall University School of Medicine

Primary
Huntington, WV

Cabell Huntington Hospital

Huntington, WV347 beds

Marshall University School of Medicine UPS Clinics

Huntington, WV

Location

Livability

County figures for Cabell County, West Virginia (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
5.12%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$52,828
−$26k vs US median
Avg Commute
22 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Courtney D Wellman, MD

Program Director

Program Director

Rachel Bledsoe

Marshall University School of Medicine 8005500475 - Huntington, WV

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Marshall University School of Medicine located?
Marshall University School of Medicine is located in Huntington, WV.
What type of program is Marshall University School of Medicine?
Marshall University School of Medicine is a university-based residency program.
Is Marshall University School of Medicine ACGME-accredited?
Yes — Marshall University School of Medicine holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How much is rent near Marshall University School of Medicine?
Median rent near Huntington, WV is ~$838/month for a 1BR and ~$895/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does Marshall University School of Medicine accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Marshall University School of Medicine reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does Marshall University School of Medicine sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Marshall University School of Medicine does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Marshall University School of Medicine require?
Marshall University School of Medicine does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at Marshall University School of Medicine?
Marshall University School of Medicine has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to Marshall University School of Medicine?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Marshall University School of Medicine to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does Marshall University School of Medicine have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Geriatric medicine (Family medicine) residency program positions as they appear.