All programs

Family Medicine Residency Program

Florida State University College of Medicine
Winter Haven, FL
Continued AccreditationACGME #1201100749

Florida State University College of Medicine is an ACGME-accredited Family Medicine residency program in Winter Haven, FL. It has 8 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 24 residents in training. It reports 58.3% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
8
24 residents · 24 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
58.3%
x
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed
SOAP eligible
Yes
1826120C1

Accredited since 2019 · 3 years · Last ACGME review 2021

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3–4
Incl. faculty
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service
ERAS
Main match

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match code
1826120C1
NRMP identifier
Match status
Active
SOAP eligible
Yes
via ERAS
MRM eligible
Yes
via ERAS

Listed in the NRMP directory as “Florida State University COM-FL”.

View on NRMP Program Directory ↗

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
58%
x
US MD
0%
x
DO
42%
x
Women
54%
x

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
50
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
75
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
5
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.3
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
6
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program
Non-physician staff
2
Support team size

Smoke-free workplace.

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit

For more than 20 years, Winter Haven Hospital Foundation has provided philanthropic support to Winter Haven Hospital. We are committed to supporting Winter Haven Hospital in its mission to improve the health of our community by providing high-quality, compassionate patient care.

Star Rating
2 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
367
Mid-size
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care4 better · 2 same · 0 worse
Mortality0 better · 5 same · 2 worse
Readmission1 better · 7 same · 2 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Leapfrog Safety GradeA
Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$14K
Research
$0
Payments
13

Top payer: Medical Device Business Services, Inc. ($14K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
19,872
ED visits
71,819
Inpatient surgeries
2,532
Outpatient surgeries
3,471
Births
1,776
Daily census
281
Full-time staff
1,640

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: Winter Haven Hospital · Winter Haven, FL

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Winter Haven Hospital

Primary
Winter Haven, FL367 beds

Winter Haven Women's Hospital

Winter Haven, FL

Central Florida Health Care

Winter Haven, FL

Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children

Orlando, FL

Location

Livability

County figures for Polk County, Florida (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
None
No tax on wages
Median Income
$63,644
−$15k vs US median
Avg Commute
30 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Nathan P Falk, MD, MBA

Program Director, Family Medicine Residency

Program Director

Joel Rothrock

Florida State University College of Medicine 8001101088 - Tallahassee, FL

Coordinator

Mrs. Samantha Yates

Florida State University College of Medicine 8001101088 - Tallahassee, FL

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Florida State University College of Medicine located?
Florida State University College of Medicine is located in Winter Haven, FL.
Is Florida State University College of Medicine ACGME-accredited?
Yes — Florida State University College of Medicine holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at Florida State University College of Medicine?
Florida State University College of Medicine has approximately 24 residents in training.
How much is rent near Florida State University College of Medicine?
Median rent near Winter Haven, FL is ~$1,200/month for a 1BR and ~$1,649/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does Florida State University College of Medicine accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Yes — 58.3% of Florida State University College of Medicine's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does Florida State University College of Medicine sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Florida State University College of Medicine does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Florida State University College of Medicine require?
Florida State University College of Medicine does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at Florida State University College of Medicine?
Florida State University College of Medicine has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to Florida State University College of Medicine?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Florida State University College of Medicine to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does Florida State University College of Medicine have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Family Medicine residency program positions as they appear.